Baked beans on toast

January 28, 2011 at 8:23 am (products) (, , , )

Now I know this may not seem post worthy, however I have always loved baked beans, especially in a toasted sandwich with cheese mmmmmmm.

For some unknown reason, when I was diagnosed with coeliac disease, I thought that I couldn’t eat baked beans. The other day though, when I was in the supermarket I thought I’d check the health food isle to see if there was such thing as gluten free baked beans. All I could see was gluten free spaghetti in a tin. Which then got me thinking, surely someone would make gluten free baked beans, right? So I walked across to the baked beans isle, read the label of a tin of Heinz Baked Beans and realised that they were in fact gluten free!

Much to my delight I bought a couple of the 130g salt reduced tins and the next morning for breakfast I had baked beans on toast!

Heinz Baked Beans on toast

Have you rediscovered a food you used to eat?

4 Comments

  1. hollypop said,

    aren’t the spc ones gf too? they have rice flour.
    mmmm looks yummy.
    too bad about the stupid gf bread though

    • Petra said,

      They might be – I got so excited that I could eat baked beans that I pretty much grabbed the first tin I read hehe…

      Have you tried Lifestyle Bakery’s bread? It’s really good! http://bit.ly/hMtrvw

  2. Theresa said,

    I know the feeling! Sometimes it’s the really simple things like beans on toast that make us gluten-free people feel really good 🙂
    For me it was hundreds and thousands, I found out that the normal brand just changed their ingredients… and I actually squealed and danced around a bit. Fairy bread here I come!

    • Petra said,

      I hadn’t event thought about hundreds and thousands not being gluten free…. I am still waiting for someone to produce gluten free licorice allsorts, when I find those I will be squealing and dancing around!!

Leave a Reply

