Flourless chocolate cake

January 3, 2011 at 4:23 pm (recipes) (, , , )

It was my uncles birthday and quite late in the afternoon we decided we should make a cake for him. He is also a coeliac so I searched on the internet for a quick and easy flourless chocolate cake recipe. I decided on this cake from allrecipes.com.au.

While the cake turned out rather flat (in hind-site I should have used a smaller cake tin) it got the thumbs up from everyone and was demolished very quickly. In the rush of things I forgot to take a photo of the entire cake but there is one of a slice of it below.

I made a white chocolate icing by melting some white chocolate buttons in the microwave, adding a bit of boiling water and some icing sugar. I then sprinkled some Cadbury Flake Garnish on top.

Do you prefer to make or buy cakes?

Ingredients

  • 125g dark chocolate, chopped
  • 125g butter
  • 185g (¾ cup) white sugar
  • 60g (½ cup) cocoa
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 150C
  2. Grease an 20cm round cake pan, and dust with cocoa powder
  3. Melt the chocolate and butter together in the top of a double boiler or in a basin over just simmering water
  4. Remove from heat, and stir in sugar, cocoa, eggs and vanilla essence
  5. Pour into prepared pan
  6. Bake in preheated oven for 30 minutes
  7. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack and cool completely

Flourless chocolate cake

4 Comments

  1. Maria @ Scandifoodie said,

    It turned out great! I can’t remember the last time I bought a cake…it’s such a joy to make them!

    • Petra said,

      I agree – I much prefer to make them.. definitely more satisfying!

  2. Fiona said,

    Alas I no longer eat cake. Too sweet!

  3. Sophie33 said,

    Ooooooh,..waw!!! The endresult says it all!,…yummie & lovely food!

Leave a Reply

