Recipe: Christmas Cake

December 8, 2010 at 8:57 am (recipes) (, , , , , , )

As discussed in yesterday’s post I decided that as well as making the Vitarium Christmas cake I would try and make one from scratch. The recipe which I used was given to me by my Aunty and it was very easy – almost as easy as making the Vitarium Christmas cake. I left it in the oven for a bit longer than I should have, worried that it wasn’t sticking together properly however once I took it out of the oven and it cooled down it did so.

Compared to the Vitarium cake this Christmas cake is more moist and has a slightly different flavour which is probably due to the condensed milk. If you have time I would definitely give this cake a go as it is delicious. I can’t wait to make some brandy custard and eat it on Christmas day!

The finished cake

What are you looking forward to eating on Christmas day?

Ingredients

  • 890gm mixed fruit (I used raisins, mixed peel and cherries)
  • 250gm butter
  • 1 tbsp vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 tsp mixed spice
  • 1 tin condensed milk
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 cups GF flour (I used Orgran all purpose plain flour)
  • 110gm blanched almonds roughly chopped
  • 1 tsp each vanilla, lemon and almond essences
  • Salt

Method

1. Place mixed fruit, butter, vinegar, ginger, water and mixed spice in a saucepan and bring to the boil

Fruit mix

2. Add the condensed milk, baking soda, flour, nuts, vanilla, lemon and almond essences and salt

With the added dry ingredients

Ready for the oven

3. Bake at 160 C for about 1 1/2 – 2 1/2 hours

The finished cake

3 Comments

  1. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella said,

    I remember trying the Vitarium Christmas cake but mine turned out a bit burnt and I did think the instructions were a little vague (and the custard was pretty bad) but it had the essence of a good cake, I think the instructions let it down. Your version looks great! Which did you prefer?

    • Petra said,

      I agree with you about the instructions and would definitely make my custard from scratch. I prefer my version (the one from scratch) and so did my Mum who tasted both.

  2. Christie said,

    I’m not usually a fan of Christmas cake, but this is the best one I’ve ever had!

Leave a Reply

